+1 (916) 332-8294 •

OPEN WATER DIVER The World's Most Popular Scuba Diving Course

The PADI Open Water Diver course

with Sacramento Water Sports

If you've always wanted to learn how to scuba dive, discover new adventures or simply see the wonderous world beneath the waves, this is where it starts. The PADI Open Water Diver course is the world's most popular scuba course, and has introduced millions of people to the adventurous diving lifestyle.

What You Learn

The PADI Open Water Diver course consists of three main phases:

  • Knowledge Development (online, home study or in a classroom ) to understand basic principles of scuba diving,
  • Confined Water Dives to learn basic scuba skills,
  • Open Water Dives to review your skills and explore!

If you've participated in a Discover Scuba Diving experience or resort course, the skills you learned may be credited towards a portion of the full PADI Open Water Diver course certification.

Prerequisites

To enroll in the PADI Open Diver course or Junior Open Water Diver course, you must be:

  • 10 years or older.
    • If your child is 10-11 years in age please call the shop for more information
    • PADI requirements state that the dives for children 10 to 11 years in age must be taken a group size no larger then 4 students. Due to the effects this has on our classes, tuition will be doubled.

The Fun Part

The fun part about this course is...well, just about all of it because learning to dive is incredible. You breathe underwater for the first time (something you'll never forget) and learn what you need to know to become a certified diver. During the course, you'll make at least five pool dives and four dives at local dive sites under the supervision of your PADI Instructor.

The Scuba Gear You Use

In the PADI Open Water Diver course, you learn to use basic scuba gear including a dive computer, and standard accessories. The equipment you wear will be chosen by a SACRAMENTO WATER SPORTS epresentative to ensure your comfort throughout the course.

The Learning Materials You Need

PADI offers a variety of home-study materials for the Open Water Diver course - book and DVD package or a multimedia DVD. Recently PADI has enhanced this program by offering the learning material in an Elearning environment via the internet.

Contact SACRAMENTO WATER SPORTS to personalize the best study option for you!

PADI's Open Water Diver materials cover what you need to know about basic scuba diving skills, terminology and safety procedures. For each concept you'll read a description and watch a video demonstration. Then you'll jump in the pool (or pool-like environment) to practice these skills with your instructor.

Additional Information

ItemPriceDescription
Course Tuition $199.00 Covers the instructors time for the Classroom, Pool, and Open Water dives
PADI Crewpack $118.00 Includes PADI Open Water Manual, Slate, SMB, Dive Tables, Log Book, Student Folder
PADI Certification Card $39.45 PADI Open Water Certification Card
Rental Equipment $80.00 BCD, Regulator w/Dive Computer, Wetsuit, Hood, (2) tanks, Weightbelt, & Weights
Tax $19.00  
Total $455.45  

Open Water DVD- $53.75 plus tax refundable for in-store credit once your done watching it.

Rental Packages will not cover all the gear required for the course, personal Gear Packages: $150.00—$338.00 includes: Mask, Snorkel, Fins, Booties, Gloves, and Sea Buff

We want to make sure your diving experience with us is #1! Any gear you purchase for your class that does not meet your needs or fit properly, will be exchanged for you prior to your open water dives. Please tell your instructor during the pool sessions so that we can address any equipment issues. Happy Diving!!!

 

Open Water Diver $199.00

 Start DateEnd DatePlaces Available 
23 May 201810 Jun 20189

Open Water Diver
Instructor(s): Dominick Attisani.

  • Open water day 2 - Sun 10 Jun 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00
  • Orientation - Wed 23 May 2018 from 18:00 to 19:30
  • Knowledge development day 1 - Fri 01 Jun 2018 from 18:00 to 21:00
  • Confined water day 1 - Sat 02 Jun 2018 from 13:00 to 16:00
  • Knowledge development day 2 & final exam - Sat 02 Jun 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Confined water day 2 - Sun 03 Jun 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Open water day 1 - Sat 09 Jun 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00

Request More Info

30 May 201817 Jun 20188

Open Water Diver
Instructor(s): Michele Kellogg, Sarah Burke.

  • Open water day 2 - Sun 17 Jun 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00
  • Orientation - Wed 30 May 2018 from 18:00 to 19:30
  • Knowledge development day 1 - Fri 08 Jun 2018 from 18:00 to 21:00
  • Confined water day 1 - Sat 09 Jun 2018 from 13:00 to 16:00
  • Knowledge development day 2 & final exam - Sat 09 Jun 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Confined water day 2 - Sun 10 Jun 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Open water day 1 - Sat 16 Jun 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00

Request More Info

06 Jun 201824 Jun 201811

Open Water Diver
Instructor(s): Steve Turner.

  • Open water day 2 - Sun 24 Jun 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00
  • Orientation - Wed 06 Jun 2018 from 18:00 to 19:30
  • Knowledge development day 1 - Fri 15 Jun 2018 from 18:00 to 21:00
  • Confined water day 1 - Sat 16 Jun 2018 from 13:00 to 16:00
  • Knowledge development day 2 & final exam - Sat 16 Jun 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Confined water day 2 - Sun 17 Jun 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Open water day 1 - Sat 23 Jun 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00

Request More Info

13 Jun 201801 Jul 201810

Open Water Diver
Instructor(s): Barry Brun.

  • Open water day 2 - Sun 01 Jul 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00
  • Orientation - Wed 13 Jun 2018 from 18:00 to 19:30
  • Knowledge development day 1 - Fri 22 Jun 2018 from 18:00 to 21:00
  • Confined water day 1 - Sat 23 Jun 2018 from 13:00 to 16:00
  • Knowledge development day 2 & final exam - Sat 23 Jun 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Confined water day 2 - Sun 24 Jun 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Open water day 1 - Sat 30 Jun 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00

Request More Info

20 Jun 201808 Jul 20189

Open Water Diver

  • Open water day 2 - Sun 08 Jul 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00
  • Orientation - Wed 20 Jun 2018 from 18:00 to 19:30
  • Knowledge development day 1 - Fri 29 Jun 2018 from 18:00 to 21:00
  • Confined water day 1 - Sat 30 Jun 2018 from 13:00 to 16:00
  • Knowledge development day 2 & final exam - Fri 29 Jun 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Confined water day 2 - Sat 30 Jun 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Open water day 1 - Sat 07 Jul 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00

Request More Info

27 Jun 201815 Jul 201810

Open Water Diver
Instructor(s): Michele Kellogg, Sarah Burke.

  • Open water day 2 - Sun 15 Jul 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00
  • Orientation - Wed 27 Jun 2018 from 18:00 to 19:30
  • Knowledge development day 1 - Fri 06 Jul 2018 from 18:00 to 21:00
  • Confined water day 1 - Sat 07 Jul 2018 from 13:00 to 16:00
  • Knowledge development day 2 & final exam - Sat 07 Jul 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Confined water day 2 - Sun 08 Jul 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Open water day 1 - Sat 14 Jul 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00

Request More Info

05 Jul 201822 Jul 201812

Open Water Diver
Instructor(s): Michele Kellogg.

  • Open water day 2 - Sun 22 Jul 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00
  • Orientation - Thu 05 Jul 2018 from 18:00 to 19:30
  • Knowledge development day 1 - Fri 13 Jul 2018 from 18:00 to 21:00
  • Confined water day 1 - Sat 14 Jul 2018 from 13:00 to 16:00
  • Knowledge development day 2 & final exam - Sat 14 Jul 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Confined water day 2 - Sun 15 Jul 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Open water day 1 - Sat 21 Jul 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00

Request More Info

11 Jul 201829 Jul 201810

Open Water Diver
Instructor(s): Barry Brun.

  • Open water day 2 - Sun 29 Jul 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00
  • Orientation - Wed 11 Jul 2018 from 18:00 to 19:30
  • Knowledge development day 1 - Fri 20 Jul 2018 from 18:00 to 21:00
  • Confined water day 1 - Sat 21 Jul 2018 from 13:00 to 16:00
  • Knowledge development day 2 & final exam - Sat 21 Jul 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Confined water day 2 - Sun 22 Jul 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Open water day 1 - Sat 28 Jul 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00

Request More Info

18 Jul 201805 Aug 201812

Open Water Diver
Instructor(s): Dominick Attisani.

  • Open water day 2 - Sun 05 Aug 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00
  • Orientation - Wed 18 Jul 2018 from 18:00 to 19:30
  • Knowledge development day 1 - Fri 27 Jul 2018 from 18:00 to 21:00
  • Confined water day 1 - Sat 28 Jul 2018 from 13:00 to 16:00
  • Knowledge development day 2 & final exam - Sat 28 Jul 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Confined water day 2 - Sun 29 Jul 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Open water day 1 - Sat 04 Aug 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00

Request More Info

25 Jul 201812 Aug 201812

Open Water Diver
Instructor(s): Steve Turner.

  • Open water day 2 - Sun 12 Aug 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00
  • Orientation - Wed 25 Jul 2018 from 18:00 to 19:30
  • Knowledge development day 1 - Fri 03 Aug 2018 from 18:00 to 21:00
  • Confined water day 1 - Sat 04 Aug 2018 from 13:00 to 16:00
  • Knowledge development day 2 & final exam - Sat 04 Aug 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Confined water day 2 - Sun 05 Aug 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Open water day 1 - Sat 11 Aug 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00

Request More Info

01 Aug 201819 Aug 201812

Open Water Diver
Instructor(s): Michael Cannon.

  • Open water day 2 - Sun 19 Aug 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00
  • Orientation - Wed 01 Aug 2018 from 18:00 to 19:30
  • Knowledge development day 1 - Fri 10 Aug 2018 from 18:00 to 21:00
  • Confined water day 1 - Sat 11 Aug 2018 from 13:00 to 16:00
  • Knowledge development day 2 & final exam - Sat 11 Aug 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Confined water day 2 - Sun 12 Aug 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Open water day 1 - Sat 18 Aug 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00

Request More Info

08 Aug 201826 Aug 201812

Open Water Diver
Instructor(s): Barry Brun.

  • Open water day 2 - Sun 26 Aug 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00
  • Orientation - Wed 08 Aug 2018 from 18:00 to 19:30
  • Knowledge development day 1 - Fri 17 Aug 2018 from 18:00 to 21:00
  • Confined water day 1 - Sat 18 Aug 2018 from 13:00 to 16:00
  • Knowledge development day 2 & final exam - Sat 18 Aug 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Confined water day 2 - Sun 19 Aug 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Open water day 1 - Sat 25 Aug 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00

Request More Info

15 Aug 201802 Sep 201812

Open Water Diver
Instructor(s): Dominick Attisani.

  • Open water day 2 - Sun 02 Sep 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00
  • Orientation - Wed 15 Aug 2018 from 18:00 to 19:30
  • Knowledge development day 1 - Fri 24 Aug 2018 from 18:00 to 21:00
  • Confined water day 1 - Sat 25 Aug 2018 from 13:00 to 16:00
  • Knowledge development day 2 & final exam - Sat 25 Aug 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Confined water day 2 - Sun 26 Aug 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Open water day 1 - Sat 01 Sep 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00

Request More Info

22 Aug 201809 Sep 201812

Open Water Diver
Instructor(s): Sarah Burke.

  • Open water day 2 - Sun 09 Sep 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00
  • Orientation - Wed 22 Aug 2018 from 18:00 to 19:30
  • Knowledge development day 1 - Fri 31 Aug 2018 from 18:00 to 21:00
  • Confined water day 1 - Sat 01 Sep 2018 from 13:00 to 16:00
  • Knowledge development day 2 & final exam - Sat 01 Sep 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Confined water day 2 - Sun 02 Sep 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Open water day 1 - Sat 08 Sep 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00

Request More Info

29 Aug 201816 Sep 201812

Open Water Diver
Instructor(s): Michael Cannon.

  • Open water day 2 - Sun 16 Sep 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00
  • Orientation - Wed 29 Aug 2018 from 18:00 to 19:30
  • Knowledge development day 1 - Fri 07 Sep 2018 from 18:00 to 21:00
  • Confined water day 1 - Sat 08 Sep 2018 from 13:00 to 16:00
  • Knowledge development day 2 & final exam - Sat 08 Sep 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Confined water day 2 - Sun 09 Sep 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Open water day 1 - Sat 15 Sep 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00

Request More Info

05 Sep 201823 Sep 201812

Open Water Diver

  • Open water day 2 - Sun 23 Sep 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00
  • Orientation - Wed 05 Sep 2018 from 18:00 to 19:30
  • Knowledge development day 1 - Fri 14 Sep 2018 from 18:00 to 21:00
  • Confined water day 1 - Sat 15 Sep 2018 from 13:00 to 16:00
  • Knowledge development day 2 & final exam - Sat 15 Sep 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Confined water day 2 - Sun 16 Sep 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Open water day 1 - Sat 22 Sep 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00

Request More Info

19 Sep 201807 Oct 201812

Open Water Diver

  • Open water day 2 - Sun 07 Oct 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00
  • Orientation - Wed 19 Sep 2018 from 18:00 to 19:30
  • Knowledge development day 1 - Fri 28 Sep 2018 from 18:00 to 21:00
  • Confined water day 1 - Sat 29 Sep 2018 from 13:00 to 16:00
  • Knowledge development day 2 & final exam - Sat 29 Sep 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Confined water day 2 - Sun 30 Sep 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Open water day 1 - Sat 06 Oct 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00

Request More Info

03 Oct 201821 Oct 201812

Open Water Diver

  • Open water day 2 - Sun 21 Oct 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00
  • Orientation - Wed 03 Oct 2018 from 18:00 to 19:30
  • Knowledge development day 1 - Fri 12 Oct 2018 from 18:00 to 21:00
  • Confined water day 1 - Sat 13 Oct 2018 from 13:00 to 16:00
  • Knowledge development day 2 & final exam - Sat 13 Oct 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Confined water day 2 - Sun 14 Oct 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Open water day 1 - Sat 20 Oct 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00

Request More Info

17 Oct 201804 Nov 201812

Open Water Diver

  • Open water day 2 - Sun 04 Nov 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00
  • Orientation - Wed 17 Oct 2018 from 18:00 to 19:30
  • Knowledge development day 1 - Fri 26 Oct 2018 from 18:00 to 21:00
  • Confined water day 1 - Sat 27 Oct 2018 from 13:00 to 16:00
  • Knowledge development day 2 & final exam - Sat 27 Oct 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Confined water day 2 - Sun 28 Oct 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Open water day 1 - Sat 03 Nov 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00

Request More Info

01 Nov 201818 Nov 201812

Open Water Diver

  • Open water day 2 - Sun 18 Nov 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00
  • Orientation - Thu 01 Nov 2018 from 18:00 to 19:30
  • Knowledge development day 1 - Fri 09 Nov 2018 from 18:00 to 21:00
  • Confined water day 1 - Sat 10 Nov 2018 from 13:00 to 16:00
  • Knowledge development day 2 & final exam - Sat 10 Nov 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Confined water day 2 - Sun 11 Nov 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Open water day 1 - Sat 17 Nov 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00

Request More Info

28 Nov 201816 Dec 201812

Open Water Diver

  • Open water day 2 - Sun 16 Dec 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00
  • Orientation - Wed 28 Nov 2018 from 18:00 to 19:30
  • Knowledge development day 1 - Fri 07 Dec 2018 from 18:00 to 21:00
  • Confined water day 1 - Sat 08 Dec 2018 from 13:00 to 16:00
  • Knowledge development day 2 & final exam - Sat 08 Dec 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Confined water day 2 - Sun 09 Dec 2018 from 08:00 to 12:00
  • Open water day 1 - Sat 15 Dec 2018 from 08:00 to 13:00

Request More Info

Aware - Fish Identification Course DETAILAware - Fish Identification Course

Aware - Fish Identification Course

$125.00